Easy J’s HOT Album Takes: Coloring Book

Drink: Hacker-Pshorr Weisse – A really pleasant fragrant wheat from Munich

Disclaimer: Seeing pretty much all of this record performed live has had a serious impact on my interpretation of it.

Slow Jam of The Week:

Summer Friends

The opening is one of my favorite uses of vocal layering in Hip Hop in recent memory. I really like the use of it throughout the track, its tasteful and always around without being obnoxious (just like Donnie Trumpet.) You could argue that the beat to this song is too fast for it to be a slow jam. That would be a good point. I believe the content and style makes it fit within my definition of slow jam. I feel Chance’s nostalgia and longing for a world I never experienced. I have no idea what growing up around S. 79th would be like, yet I find myself missing it. He is pretty good. It feels like backstory episode of a TV show I really like. (AT)

 

Beat:

Finish Line/Drown

This sounds like the back beat to an early 2000’s country song about a sunny day. Seriously. I pretty much picked it for that reason alone. Like, how can you make something that sounds so generic and is totally Chance? I find this song to be sort of enigmatic. It has a complexion that doesn’t really fit with the rest of the album. I could see the exact same instrumentation being used for a Christian rock song or something. I guess this is the beat that I found most interesting.

I should note that this was a cop-out because all the beats on this track do something for me in one way or another.

 

Rhyme:

They told me I wouldn’t go/
Cause in high school all I cared about was hoes/
Well, maybe that shit was my interest/
Now I spend more than they make at my dentist

Mixtape (Lil’ Yachty)

Hook:

Same Drugs

This bitch has been stuck in my head all week. The line itself is awesome. “We don’t do the same drugs no more” is such a simple line but there is so much that can be unpacked. It really seems like a shame that they don’t do the same drugs, like they used to really enjoy one another, now the other is gone. The ballad style piano line paired with the ever expanding layered female voice every time the hook comes around helps to create the sense of longing I need for this song to work emotionally.

Honorable Mention: Mixtape

I Don’t Get It:

Juke Jam

Blame JB. His hook isn’t very good. It takes me out of the narrative of the song instead of enhancing it. That isn’t necessarily his fault but because it is the only hook I really don’t feel on the album I am blaming him. Who called the Canadian? I don’t get it.

 

Banger of the Week

No Problem

The intro builds straight into the hook really well. I dig that. The beat has a great mix of deep pounding bass while the line is still fluid. As a former sub-woofer enthusiast I can say, that is really difficult to come by these days. This is a party jam, any party with Lil’ Wayne is probably pretty rad. The features are really good and the beat always brings me right where I want to go. This is a banger.

 

The Brief:

This is a good record. Chance is really showcasing his versatility and he does so without loosing any of the connection he has become famous for. Speaking of fame, this album feels like Chance staking out his place in the Hip Hop hierarchy. He made it baby.

19/20

 

 

 

 

Author: jasonpocketeasy

Sleep all day rep all night.

Leave a Reply

